Invited Speakers and Prizes

Founders' Prize Lecture

Mark Warner (Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge, UK)
Title: Responsive polymers in the solid state

Ian Macmillan Ward Prize Lecture (Best Student Paper)

Charalampos Pappas (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)
Title: Dynamic peptide libraries for the discovery of supramolecular nanomaterials

APS-DPOLY Exchange Lecture

Michael Hore (Case Western Reserve University, USA)
Title: Investigations of Star, Cyclic, and Concatenated Polymers with Neutron Scattering

Invited speakers

Tatiana Budtova (MINES, ParisTech, France)
Title: Bio-aerogels

Nigel Clarke (University of Sheffield, UK)
Title: Fundamental polymer physics in nanocomposites

Dr Rumiana Dimova, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam, Germany
Title: Lipid membranes exposed to aqueous two-phase systems: Membrane wetting, vesicle budding and spontaneous tubulation

Rumiana Dimova obtained her Ph.D. at Bordeaux University (France) in 1999. Afterwards, she joined the Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces as a postdoctoral fellow, where she became a group leader in 2000. Since then she leads the Biomembrane lab in the Department of Theory and BioSystems. Her main research interests are in the field of membrane biophysics. In 2014, she was awarded with the EPS Emmy Noether distinction for women in physics

Andreas Walther (Freiburg University, Germany)
Title: Adaptive and autonomous bioinspired self-assembled material systems

Alexei Likhtman Poster Prize

Early Career Researchers (ECRs) who present a poster at the meeting are eligible for the Alexei Likhtman poster prize. The winner will receive £150 and there are two runner-up prizes of £75.  An ECR may be an undergraduate or postgraduate student, or a researcher who has been awarded a PhD degree within the five years preceding the date of the meeting.

Key dates

  • Oral abstract submission deadline:
    24 May 2017
  • Poster abstract submission deadline:
    10 August 2017
  • Early registration deadline:
    10 August 2017
  • Registration deadline:
    5 September 2017